Skip to content

Wayúu Taya

February 3, 2011

For someone who loves bags as much as I do, I really don’t talk about them enough on here. While my current go-to bag is my black leather Angel Jackson (seen here and here) that I love more than words, I am always on the hunt for more colorful bags with a bohemian flare. Insert Wayúu Taya. I first featured a Wayúu Taya bag a few weeks ago in my shopping post, “Red my Mind,” and have been kind of obsessing over them ever since.

These colorful and intricately designed bucket bags are a product of the Wayúu Taya Foundation, a non-profit organization devoted to supporting the Wayúu indigenous people from the Guajira Peninsula of Northern Colombia and Northwest Venezuela. Founded in 2002 by Wayúu actress/model Patricia Velásquez, the foundation devotes its time to helping the Wayúu people by selling their local handicrafts to a larger market in the United States. All proceeds go toward benefiting the Wayúu people, supporting them with healthier accommodations and education.

I haven’t yet decided which bag I am going to purchase but whichever one I end up buying is certain to get a lot of use!


Wayúu Taya bags can be purchased at Revolve Clothing or directly from the foundations site.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 8:30 am

    love the bags woowwww

    ♥ yamina.
    http://beyondurclothes.blogspot.com/

  2. A.D. permalink
    February 3, 2011 10:57 am

    Fun bags and their earrings are cool too!

  3. February 3, 2011 11:45 am

    these bags just scream spring day at the park or a sunday morning stroll through a farmers market. love, love, love.

  4. February 3, 2011 5:56 pm

    ohh love those bags !!!

  5. February 4, 2011 3:16 pm

    I love those bags ! there are so cool !!
    I have a skirt like that ^^
    xx

Leave a Reply

