Skip to content

Banff

January 28, 2011

Since New York and I seem to be on a snow kick I thought I’d take this weekend getaway post somewhere that’s known for its snowy mountains and winter activities, Banff. Located in the Alberta Rockies of Canada, Banff is one of the number one places to rent (or bring) a pair of skis and hit the slopes with family and friends. Now, I have not been skiing since I was cruising down the bunny slopes in a hot pink ski suit at the age of five but it’s been something that I’ve wanted to try out again. However, regardless of the skiing, I’ve always wanted to rent a cabin with friends and spend days partaking in winter activities, curling up by the fire and cooking big meals and well, Banff seems like the perfect place to do that.

Aside from my desire to lounge around a cabin with a wintery cocktail in my hand, there are also a number of places I’d like to explore in Banff. Year round, visitors can explore multiple caves hidden within the rockies, bathe and swim in the hot springs surrounded by views of mountains and take gondola rides up and down these steep peaks to get an aerial view of the surrounding area. However, since we’re focusing on winter today (thank you Mr. Weather for bringing 8 inches of snow to New York City yesterday), Banff offers practically every winter activity you could possibly imagine: snow shoeing, skiing, snowmobiling, sledding, etc. However, something that I’ve never heard of before but am dying to try is Banff’s “Evening Icewalk” which features a moonlit walk around the icy Lake Minnewanka followed by a warm and cozy hang-out around a giant campfire.

If you couldn’t already tell, all this snow is making me stir crazy for some fun winter activities…and since a trip to Banff in the next few weeks is totally out of the question I guess I’ll just have to make do with what I’ve got; Central Park, here I come.

nothing like seeing an elk bull in the wild •

hot springs image from the 1920s •

hot springs today – sign me up! •

interior view of one of Banff’s many caves •

don’t you just want to rent this cabin out for a week? or two…or three? •

• I wouldn’t mind staying at the Banff Springs Hotel either though •

Have you ever been to Banff?

photos via flickr
7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2011 10:53 am

    Stunning photos, and no I have never been to Banff, but it looks amazing!!

  2. Joel permalink
    January 28, 2011 8:07 pm

    I’m on my way to Banff and Golden, BC next week to ski. They’ve had like 14 feet of snow this year courtesy of La Nina weather patterns. I’ve been going every few years over the last decade. I’ve had some great meals at the Banff Springs Hotel and the mineral hot springs are amazing after a long day of skiing. Fly into Calgary and head west. It’s worth it.

  3. January 29, 2011 1:28 am

    Hey!
    I actually live just outside of Banff near Calgary and it’s still one of my favourite places to visit. I go there every new years eve and get afternoon tea at the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel. If you’re interested in a winter trip I definitely recommend it! If you ever come to Alberta though you should also do the Icefields Parkway drive and go to Lake Louise. If you’re interested in Banff you’d really like Lake Louise too. Hope you make it one day, it’s great in the Rockies!

  4. Mary permalink
    January 29, 2011 11:08 pm

    I got engaged in Banff! Enjoyed looking at all of these photos…brought back lovely memories!

  5. February 2, 2011 11:05 am

    Banff is life changing and a MUST see. Add it to your list, you will NOT be disappointed… and yes, stay at the Prince of Wales hotel and sit in every possible hot spring you can! brilliant!

  6. Anie permalink
    February 3, 2011 2:36 pm

    I live just outside of Banff and it is a wonderful place to visit. People from all over the world know where it is!!
    I just wanted to point out that the Hot Springs you have pictured here are not in Banff… they are in a town called Radium. FYI

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Banff « Runway Hippie -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

