Skip to content

Snow Day

January 27, 2011

For all the years that I’ve lived on the east coast I still have yet to experience a snow day. When I was in college, my campus was small enough that everyone could walk to class thus making it next to impossible to have a justifiable snow day.  Sure I may have skipped out on a few classes due to “snow” but never was an entire day canceled so I could go and take part in all of those fun wintery activities I was deprived of as a child who grew up in California.

We’re supposed to get about 8 inches of snow today and I’m praying that I have a snow day…although the likelihood of that happening is slim to none. I hate to admit it but I’ve never been sledding and I think the last time I built a snowman was when I was too small to do it myself and instead watched my brothers make one in Lake Tahoe. What I would give to be involved in a full-blown snowball fight…

Last winter during a relaxing month of unemployment I ventured uptown to Central Park to walk around and see its usually green lawns covered in snow. It was honestly like a little escape from New York. There was no one in the park and it was so quiet I forgot I was in a city where all I normally hear are car horns and sirens. While it was nice to have some peace and quiet walking around by myself, I would love to go back to Central Park (perhaps this weekend?) with some friends and do it right, snowballs and all.

Are any of you lucky enough to have a snow day today??

cute little puff puff squirrel •

• this is about as close to a snow day as I’ve ever come – we got 10 inches of snow back in college! •

3 Comments leave one →
  1. A.D. permalink
    January 27, 2011 8:52 am

    Kwan yin is completely covered in snow…over 4 feet total on the terrace…wish you were here to slide down our hill! Will post photos.

  2. February 4, 2011 9:46 am

    I love these shots of Central Park in the snow! I am much more of a summer person so I barely went out during snow season when I lived in NY (it’s a tad embarrassing, I know) so I have seen Central Park throughout the year many times, but never after a big snow fall! Thank you for sharing these lovely pics.

Trackbacks

  1. Banff « Runway Hippie

Leave a Reply

