Skip to content

Out on a Brim

December 16, 2010

Yesterday as I was doing some of my Christmas shopping at All Saints I couldn’t help but try on their Salerno Fedora, a perfectly sculpted menswear inspired hat that I ended up wearing around the store while shopping for friends and family. I didn’t end up buying it which I now kind of regret, but it reminded me just how much I love a good fedora. In the summertime I’m rarely seen without one of my straw ones (see here), and in the fall/winter I find nothing adds texture to a bundled up look quite like my vintage felt fedora.

While some trends may come and go, the fedora trend has stood the trend test of time in womens wear. In 1937 silver screen siren Carole Lombard looked particularly fantastic wearing a fur fedora (see below), and today it’s impossible to browse through a street style blog or tabloid magazine without seeing at least one style icon sporting one of these gangster-inspired hats. So, in my efforts to find new ways to wear my fedoras instead of buying a new one, here are some sartorial inspirations for rocking these ever popular sturdy brimmed, wooly felt hats.

Carole Lombard, 1937

photos via google image search, refinery 29, stockholm street style & fashion toast
One Comment leave one →
  1. December 16, 2010 7:18 pm

    CRAVING a hat like this! I found a good one a while ago at F21 but dropped the ball, missed the boat and they ran out.

    http://couldihavethat.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

