Skip to content

Lissy Elle

November 23, 2010

Cruising through endless pages on tumblr (see/follow mine here), I always manage to stumble upon incredible photographers with a bevy of works on flickr. Lissy Laricchia is my latest flickr discovery and I am completely enamored with her photography. Often using herself as the model, Lissy creates mystical, fairytale inspired pictures that are not only beautiful to look at but require their viewer to create stories about them. Lissy recently created a series of her work called “Get Back in Your Book” which features her dressed up as a number of different fairytale characters being sucked back into their respective books. While slightly disturbing at first, its a fun concept to imagine characters escaping their stories and being summoned back into them.

I have loved make-believe since I was a little girl and get beyond excited when I find it in art and photography. I’m a firm believer in being able to escape into a work of art and find myself daydreaming as I gaze into Lissy’s pictures. While I could look at her photos for hours, I must admit that they also inspire me to attempt something like this on my own. Or to at least build a tented fort in the corner of my room like she did in the second to last photo shown below.

photos via Lissy’s flickr
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sunshine Sparkle permalink
    November 23, 2010 5:03 pm

    Beautiful. An inspiration!

  2. Sara permalink
    December 1, 2010 1:59 pm

    I agree with Sunshine Sparkle. These are such an inspiration, they make me want to do something similar in my own backyard! How do you find these flickr photographers?

    XOX,
    Sara

Leave a Reply

