Skip to content

Catskills

October 22, 2010

Last weekend I was fortunate to get out of the city and go to my friend’s camp up in Spruceton, New York, better known as the Catskills. I had never been to upstate New York before (don’t judge me I’m from California) and was excited to see the state outside of New York City’s five boroughs.

Although we arrived after sunset, much to my delight I could already feel the crisp, cool climate and fresh mountain air – a temperature unbeknownst to NYC. So to pass the time before sleep/sunrise we lit up a fire, feasted on cheese and drank perhaps a few too many bottles of wine before curling up in sleeping bags to enjoy a quiet slumber.

The next morning I was wide-eyed and bushy tailed as I awoke to see nothing but endless mountains sprinkled with leaves. There wasn’t as much foliage as I had expected but once I felt the drastic climate change and cool winds I wasn’t surprised that the majority of the leaves were scattered around the ground.

We spent most of the weekend exploring the property, shooting at empty cans and pumpkins, and eating far too much savory food. And while I don’t know much about the town of Spruceton (though I’ve been told it’s not much of a “town”), let me just say that the views in the Catskills are spectacular, the climate is beyond ideal, and all in all it was a perfect weekend getaway to kick my fall mindset into gear and spend time with good friends.

the cabin •

• I’m actually not a bad shot! •

• bon fire coziness •

Have you ever been to the Catskills?


photos via me & my friend Jess
3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 12:42 pm

    i love your photo with the gun

  2. October 24, 2010 3:58 pm

    Love the catskills! I just learned about them in my American Art History Class,
    so its cool to see modern photos of them! Love your blog! Be sure to
    check out Gramercy Boutique!! : )

    http://www.gramercyboutique.blogspot.com/

    xx

  3. October 24, 2010 3:58 pm

    Love the catskills! I just learned about them in my American Art History Class,
    so its cool to see modern photos of them! Love your blog! Be sure to
    check out Gramercy Boutique!! : )

    xx

Leave a Reply

