Skip to content

Suspend Yourself

October 21, 2010

Suspenders are easily the most underrated accessory for both men and women. I myself almost always grab a sturdy leather belt to keep my pants in place instead of a pair of springy suspenders. In fact, unless the pants have buttons specifically designed for suspenders I’m not so convinced they function as anything more than a bold, contrasting accessory. But since when is there anything wrong with that?

Although rare, whenever I do reach for a pair of suspenders I’m always blown away by how easily they jazz up a boring outfit or add some edge to an otherwise feminine look. However, even though they quickly spruce up an outfit, they’re not the most versatile accessory. I find that they’re best paired with high-waisted pants, skirts or shorts; anything lower than my belly-button and I could easily pass for Humpty Dumpty. But even if you have to go through a few trial and error ensembles before getting the suspender look down right, once you do I guarantee that you’re going to want to incorporate these stretchy straps into your outfits much more frequently.

photos via chictopia, just jared & tfs
3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 6:10 am

    yes please, have always had a soft spot for suspenders, ever since I stole a pair of my dads to wear in a play at school!

    x

  2. Meem permalink
    October 21, 2010 10:33 am

    buttons are better than clips any day!

  3. October 26, 2010 3:19 pm

    So very cute. I have an old pair buried in the closet. Going to have to see if I can pull it off!

Leave a Reply

