Skip to content

County Galway

October 8, 2010

Clifden Castle •

Ever since my friend Erin told me about her visit to Ireland last December, it has become a must-visit place on my travel list. Even though she had me at three of my favorite words: whiskey, meat and potatoes, after flipping through a couple of travel books and browsing through her photos I realized I had to experience this Gaelic country for myself.

Like practically every other country in the world, there are many cities and towns worth visiting in Ireland, but right now I’m particularly drawn to County Galway. Located on the Western side of Ireland, Galway is known for its grassy green fairytale-like landscapes, icy cold waters and not surprisingly, its rustic pubs that have become quite the trademark of Ireland.

As pictured above, many of the tourist sites in Galway are rustic, stone ruins in the middle of large grassy mountains and meadows. Although these buildings have been uninhabited for thousands of years, many of them remain well intact but are left barren and unfurnished. Sometimes I almost prefer such places to be left empty because then my mind can wander and make up stories about what a certain room may have looked like back when it was full of life during the 17th or 18th century.

While I’m obviously drawn to the history and culture of all my little weekend getaway locations (see more here), there is one specific spot in Galway that sounds more awesome than it does historic. While walking through The Promenade, a popular street for people watching along the water, there is a concrete diving board (!) where daring civilians have been known to dive into the icy cold Atlantic Ocean! I think I’d have to be double dared to do such a thing, but it’s definitely something I would LOVE to watch. Another landmark that sounds particularly up my alley is a giant, rusty, washed ashore hull located on one of the three Aran Islands on the coast of Galway. And while exploring its lower decks sounds like a recipe for tetanus, its definitely something worth seeing in the flesh.

So like many other things on my to-do list, I’ve added a visit to County Galway, Ireland…but I guess I had better do my laundry first.

rusty hull •

Kilmacdaugh Monastery •

the cement diving board off the Promenade •

now that’s what I call a pub •

• Kylemore Abbey (That’s a school!) •

Have you ever been to County Galway?

photos via flickr
2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 11:57 am

    oh my god! this place looks amazing…I think I need to start making my travel plans for next year..

    xx

  2. October 11, 2010 2:59 pm

    I’ve been there and I don’t remember it being that beautiful. Great pictures.

Leave a Reply

