Skip to content

Munich

October 1, 2010

It’s been a few weeks since my last Weekend Getaway post, and boy am I ready for some day dreaming travel adventures! As a celebration of the first day of October, I thought it was only fitting to jet off to Munich, Germany for Oktoberfest. I had the pleasure of going to Oktoberfest back in 2004, and had one of the best times of my life, hands down. There were giant beer mugs larger than my face, adorable people in lederhosen, and fun festival rides and games. I only went to the actual Oktoberfest for one day, and spent the rest of my days wandering Munich absorbing all of its decorative buildings, silly souvenirs, and copper red rooftops.

Aside from the beer infested tents that take over Munich for a solid 18 days, some of Munich’s biggest attractions are the Nymphenburg Palace, the Englischer Garten, Fünf Höfe, the mechanical clock in Marienplatz and my personal favorite, the Neuschwanstein Castle which served as the model for the castle in Disney’s Sleeping Beauty! The mechanical clock, otherwise known as the Glockenspiel is also a must see; I had been to Munich once before my last visit and was amazed by how much I remembered about this GINORMOUS cuckoo clock! The little figurines remind me of that puppet scene in Pinnochio.

Even though I’ve been to Munich before, I want to return without a doubt. I love returning to cities that I’ve already been to because each time is a new experience as I discover new sights and revisit old memories. Maybe I should start making an itinerary now…

view of the Nymphenburg Palace •

inside a tent at Oktoberfest •

Fünf Höfe •

• Englischer Garten •

• The Marienplatz Glockenspiel •

• Neuschwanstein Castle

Have you ever been to Munich?

photos via flickr
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    October 1, 2010 10:57 am

    I have never been to Oktoberfest but my friends and I are hoping to go next year. Any recommendations?

  2. October 3, 2010 8:52 pm

    I LOVED Octoberfest. I want to go back. I would definitely go this fall if you need a travel buddy…it’s the only place in the world where I’ll get drunk off of beer. I dare you to join me.

  3. October 4, 2010 1:13 am

    I have never been to Munich before. I missed my chance a few years ago. These photos are so beautiful. Makes me want to go so badly. Maybe someday.

    thequeenofwanderlust.blogspot.com

  4. Kara permalink
    October 5, 2010 6:40 pm

    i would love to go there someday. i love the architecture that you show in your pictures.

Leave a Reply

