Skip to content

Fashion’s Past

September 29, 2010

Although there are a whole slew of amazing new ad campaigns hitting the newsstands as I type (Refinery29 does a pretty great round-up of them here and here), there are certain campaigns from the past that stick out in my mind like a Meryl Streep movie.

Anyone born before 1986 can’t help but remember the notorious Calvin Klein ads featuring a waifishly thin Kate Moss and extra hunky Mark Wahlberg…oh, excuse me, I mean Marky Mark and his “Good Vibrations”.  Or how about the heart melting Ralph Lauren “Romance” ads with Tanga Moreau and Cedric Jimenez? Or, one of my personal favorites, the ever classy Claudia Schiffer clad in over-size Jackie-O shades in the Salvatore Ferragamo campaigns.

When I was younger I used to save every.single.magazine that I bought. I had stacks upon stacks of Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar, and no I’m not afraid to admit it…Seventeen Magazine (hey, it was cool in the 90s). But, in attempt to not turn my room into it’s own episode of Hoarders, I got rid of all my old, perfume scented glossys and thus lost all the hard copies of some of my favorite ad campaigns. While this “cleanse” happened years ago (we’re talking 1998 at the latest), I still think about those campaigns that caught my eye back in the days of braces and school uniforms; the days when I would often rip pages out of magazines and tape them to my wall, admiring them while I attempted homework.

When these adolescent years passed, I was still obsessing over fashion ads, but in a much different way. Instead of taping them to my wall, I would rip them out of their publications and store them in an over-stuffed folder that managed to travel with me from highschool to college and then to New York, but I stupidly threw it out on my last apartment move. While I didn’t look at them very frequently, I would often look back through them when I needed inspiration. But, after some serious research I managed to find online scans of a few of my favorite ads that I thought were gone forever and thought I’d share them with you.

Chanel 1998 by Karl Lagerfeld

Calvin Klein Jeans 1993 by Herb Ritts

Gucci F/W 1996 by Mario Testino

Missoni F/W 1997 by Mario Testino

Romance by Ralph Lauren 1999 & 2001 by Bruce Weber

Louis Vuitton Jewelry 2004 by Inez Van Lamsweerde and Vinoodh Matadin

Salvatore Ferragamo F/W 2007 by Mario Testino

Kate Spade S/S 2006 by Tim Walker

Ralph by Ralph Lauren ca. 2001

Miu Miu S/S 2008 by Mert Alas and Marcus Piggott

photos via tfs
One Comment leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    October 1, 2010 10:55 am

    I don’t think I will ever grow out of pasting ads onto my walls. I even have some framed! Like the ones that you have chosen.

    Great blog.

Leave a Reply

