Skip to content

New York Fashion Week – Day Six

September 20, 2010

I kicked off day six with a cup of coffee, a croissant, and some Rachel Roy which was filled with beautiful fabrics and brilliant colors that woke me right up out of my Fashion Week exhaustion. My particular favorites were a floor-length pinstripe skirt and pants, and a series of heavily embezzled dresses.

Grey Ant was up next and was held in none other than a furniture store on the Upper East Side. The room was covered in brown parchment paper which looked pretty messy, but I was curious to see what the show had in store…

Between the strange butt-cupping pants and awkwardly placed cut-outs I can’t say that this was one of the best collections I’ve seen, but it was certainly interesting. There were however a few pieces that I would definitely wear such as the lightweight grey trousers and architecturally draped skirt (both pictured below).

After Grey Ant I had to book it back to Lincoln Center for Dennis Basso. I honestly didn’t think I would make it but I’m so happy I did!  I didn’t get any good shots of the show, but I loved how he kept things on the shorter side with cutsey party dresses that any girl would love to wear. Below are a few of my favorites via style.com

Then it was back downtown for the Temperley presentation at MILK. I was pretty disappointed when I walked in and saw that they were using mannequins as opposed to models…I mean, come on, it’s Fashion Week not a department store. The collection however was cool and edgy and I particularly liked the allusions to King Arthur and his knights of the round table with bits of metal and harnesses strapped throughout the looks. There was also an amazing silver chain-like mesh hooded dress that I gushed over for a good fifteen minutes.

Need this dress! •

• I love the delicate femininity of this look •

Immediately following Temperley was Yigal Azrouël at Exit Art Gallery. The show had a lot of long, draped silhouettes that billowed and rippled as the models walked. The palette was on trend with its milky whites and peachy pinks, but it was nice to see some dominating black looks as well because you can never go wrong with black, now can you?

Last, but not least was Toni Francesc back up at Lincoln Center. I hung around the lobby of the tents for awhile, enjoying the free wine and Popchips (no time for dinner=popchips for dinner), where I stumbled upon this random Fashion Week goer dressed in quite the fashionable football outfit!

Pretty random sighting for Fashion Week but I totally want his football purse! •

Just when I was gearing up to head into the Studio I turned around and saw the legendary, Grace Coddington! I mustered up the courage to go and introduce myself and snagged a photo of her and her daughter as well!

My night could have easily ended right there but there was one more show that I had to see. I was unexpectedly blown away by Francesc’s collection. His silhouettes were delicate, whimsical and fairy-like and he featured some of the most incredible wooden accessories I’ve ever seen.

More to come!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gillie bean permalink
    September 21, 2010 11:38 am

    I CAN’T BELIEVE YOU MET GRACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Epic.

    What a tremendous job with fashion week…I felt like I was there! So insightful and so informative…thank you!

  2. Martha permalink
    September 22, 2010 12:48 pm

    Thanks for bringing the week to life for us, Sonia. It helps us hold up the sky out West knowing you have your eye on the avant edge.

Trackbacks

  1. Day Six – Shrines and deer of Nara-Koen, Journey to Osaka

Leave a Reply

