Skip to content

New York Fashion Week – Day Three

September 18, 2010

My third day of Fashion Week started with Cynthia Rowley which was a complete disaster. They overbooked the show and stopped letting people in! Even those of us with seats were turned away at the door. I was pretty disappointed but luckily they were showing the collection on a giant flat screen in the lobby of the tents so I was able to see who and what came down the runway. But talk about poor planning.

Next on the agenda was Jill Stuart which was naturally a celebrity madhouse. Everyone from the Kardashians to Jessica Szohr were there, so the space was packed to the brim. But from what I could see, Jill Stuart presented a classically beautiful collection that reminded me of Audrey Hepburn. Cinched waists, black and white, romantic hemlines, just a clean-cut, classic collection. I also fell in love with the shoes which were contrasting black and tan booties – very Chanel. The model line-up was fantastic as well: Frida Gustavsson, Hanne Gaby Odiele, Lindsey Wixson and Tati Cotliar all walked.

After Jill Stuart I had a little time before my next show so I grabbed a bite and did some writing before heading back to Lincoln Center. Next on the list was ADAM by Adam Lippes whose ready-to-wear collections are always incredibly wearable and urban chic. This season Lippes WOWed me with a poppy red leather swing dress that had me drooling on the floor. The collection also featured billowy peasant skirts and dresses, high-waisted trousers and beautiful chiffon evening dresses that I would wear in a heartbeat. This was definitely one of my favorite collections this season.

the red leather dress •

After ADAM I had a huge break, so I went home to relax with Finn for a bit and bust out a few articles. Before I knew it I was back out on the town heading to MILK for the SUNO presentation. Max Osterweis is such an innovative designer so I knew only to expect great pieces from him. SUNO was hands down my favorite collection out of all of Fashion Week. Even as I sit here days after the SUNO presentation, I still can’t get over all of the amazing textiles and fabrics. The shoes were a whole other realm of amazing: SUNO collaborated with Loeffler Randall and created the most adorably printed wedges and sandals that I’ve ever seen. Even though they won’t be out until next Spring, you better believe I’ll be first in line to buy them.

Loeffler Randall x SUNO •

That wraps up day three. Day four next!

Leave a Reply

