Skip to content

New York Fashion Week – Day Two

September 17, 2010

Day two was filled with back-to-back shows followed by Fashion’s Night Out which I was a bit skeptical about. There were so many events happening that it honestly felt like New Years Eve with swarms of people scattered on the streets trying to find the best party to go to. But it actually turned out to be a surprisingly pretty fun night! More on that later though.

The first show on my schedule was Michael Angel. I was pleasantly surprised with his collection which featured amazing sheer latex jackets and ethereal watercolor-esque fabrics that moved beautifully on the runway.

I have to say that the best part of the show was meeting Julia Stegner, who sat front row wearing the most incredible vintage dress and Miu Miu bag. I always get a little nervous going up and interviewing celebrities because you never know how they’re going to react, but Julia was so well-spoken and sweet, she was an absolute delight to talk to. And did I mention, GORGEOUSSSSS!?

Julia Stegner •

Next up was the Lorick presentation in the Meat Packing district. The collection featured very lightweight, sculpted looks that while beautiful in appearance didn’t really do it for me in terms of wearability. But here are some photos from the presentation:

After Lorick I grabbed a quick bite at Le Pain Quotidien (where I basically lived between shows when I didn’t have time to go home), before heading to MILK for the Costello Tagliapietra show. The collection definitely put a modern spin on the working girl, although I’m not so sure how these looks will hang on “normal” women. But I found the overall show to be quite refined, classy, and versatile.

Immediately following Tagliapietra was Doo.Ri, so I hopped in a cab and headed up to Eyebeam Studios just in the nick of time. Doo.Ri was filled with silky cropped tops, baggy trousers, and edgy spring dresses that would transition seamlessly from day-to-night. The collection started off with a series of pale pinks, creams, and tans but brightened up towards the end with short canary yellow dresses that had sweet bits of blue and pink interspersed throughout the fabric. This was definitely the first collection I’d seen at fashion week that really got me thinking about spring apparel.

That’s it for shows on Day 2 of Fashion Week. Next up Fashion’s Night Out!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 6:36 pm

    Loved reading your twitter updates during NYFW… love the images. Did you take them?

  2. September 17, 2010 6:42 pm

    I did!! Thank you!! You have to come out for NYFW sometime!

    xx

  3. Meg permalink
    October 15, 2010 2:20 pm

    Your updates are great to read! I love the Lorick bit… Everything about her collection is so elegant and lady-like!

Leave a Reply

