Skip to content

Ready, Set…GO!

September 9, 2010

Today is New York Fashion Week’s official kick off and I’m both extremely excited and admittedly, a little nervous! Although I’ve worked fashion week several times before, this season my schedule is much busier and I’m sure I’m not alone when I express my apprehension about it being held in Lincoln Center this year. I had finally figured out the ins and outs of Bryant Park (i.e. where to grab a quick bite, the best place for coffee, and the easiest way to get through the crowds) and I could literally walk two feet out the front door of my apartment, hop on the subway, and arrive two feet from the entrance at Bryant Park.  Talk about convenience. But enough with this pessimism. It’s fashion week and it’s time to get amped!

While I’ve already gone through the check list that I made last season, I’ve made a few necessary additions to the list to ensure that I have as stress free a week as possible.

1. Making a Model “Face Book” – Let’s be honest, new faces pop-up in the modeling industry on what seems like a daily basis. Sure, you have your superstar names like Lily Donaldson, Chanel Iman and Alessandra Ambrosio, but what about all those other girls that are making their debut on the NYFW runways? Since I’m working with Modelinia again this season, I’ve decided that the best way to memorize all these new names and faces is to make a book featuring their pictures, names and a short bio – aka a Model Face Book.

2. Stocking the Kitchen – I’m not sure what I was thinking last season, but for some reason I thought I’d have time to sit down and eat a meal all throughout fashion week. Boy, was I wrong. I was basically running from show to show shoveling a sandwich down my throat, praying that little dribbles of mustard or lettuce wouldn’t fall on my outfit. But that won’t be happening this time, no sir! I’ve stocked my kitchen with easy snacks that I can throw in my bag and eat without needing a napkin, or let’s face it…a bib. Protein bars, string cheese, carrots, and the like will be my fashion week diet. But rest assured I’ll definitely be taking myself out to a scrumptious meal after the whole thing is over.

3. The Giant Bag – I already carry a sufficient amount of stuff in my bag on a daily basis, but when I’m running around NYC all day from show to show there are a few more necessary items that I need throughout the day. As much as I’d like to carry a small bag or clutch around, there’s no way in hell I’d be able to survive an entire day of fashion shows with just my wallet, cellphone and keys.  Along with the aforementioned items, I carry an extra pair of shoes, my camera(s), notebook, snacks, water, and gift bag treats, so obviously the bigger the bag the better.

I will try and post on Runway Hippie as frequently as possible throughout fashion week but I may miss a few days here and there. But I promise to be back with lots of stories and pictures of all my experiences! And be sure to check out my updates on Modelinia!

And now, off to the shows!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 9:22 am

    Just saw your style shot on nymag.com
    Super cute!

    xx
    jamie

Leave a Reply

