Skip to content

Giza

August 6, 2010

When it comes to my “must see” places in the world, Egypt is at the top of my list. It was my favorite subject in college and is and always will be one of my biggest obsessions. I find the history, art, culture and architecture to be fascinating.

The city of Giza sits right along the Nile and is known for its closeness to Egypt’s most famous ancient monuments such as the Great Pyramids and the Sphinx. While I don’t know much about Giza in terms of food and shopping (although I imagine it’s pretty touristy), the close proximity to the Giza Necropolis is enough to get me on a plane tomorrow! I’m already awestruck by the images of these massive monuments, so I can only imagine what my reaction would be like when seeing them in the flesh.

Giza is also home to the Solar Barque Museum which houses the most spectacular boat I’ve ever seen (see the last photo in this post). The boat was discovered by the archaeologist Kamal el-Mallakh in 1954 when he was working as an antiquities inspector in Giza. He just STUMBLED across this buried boat that was used by Pharoahs of Ancient Egypt. Lucky guy! Although the significance of the boat is still highly debated, its mere size and construction (no nails are used in the assemblage of this ship) leaves me absolutely dumbfounded. Those Egyptians… they were onto something weren’t they? To think of all the things we still have yet to uncover makes me want to go back in time and become an archaeologist.

As with most places that I’m longing to visit, I have no set date for a trip to Giza. But hopefully that will change sooner rather than later.

the Sphinx •

• Pyramid close up •

• View from the Nile •

• Solar Barque •

Have you ever been to Giza?

all photos via flickr

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 12:50 pm

    My mom and dad actually grew up in Cairo (and also Alexandria) but they talk about it a lot. My grandmother once brought these miniature pyramids back with her and they were filled from sand from Egypt =X It was really exciting.

    I’ve never been that (I’m a sad excuse for an Egyptian x_x) but I hope to go someday.

    Yasmeen

  2. December 2, 2010 12:59 pm

    The Stones hold many secrets. Thanks for your article.

Leave a Reply

