Skip to content

Dinner Party

August 3, 2010

Back in my days of tweendom, my friends and I used to love flipping to the questionnaire pages of YM or Seventeen Magazine to ask each other a series of cheesy questions providing us with the options of answers a, b, or c.

~

Example:

While getting ready to meet your crush for your 8th grade dance, you realize that the dress you purchased for the night has a rip in it! After a moment of panic you:

a) call your crush and tell him you’ve come down with the flu

b) decide to wear an old but equally awesome dress as the one you’d planned to wear to the dance

c) grab a pair of scissors and channel your inner punk girl by ripping and shredding other areas of the dress

~

Oh, the good ol’ days….

Now that I’m older I’m drawn to a different type of quiz, the “Proust Questionnaire” at the back of every Vanity Fair. While the questionnaire features answers by someone significant each month (Betty White, Judd Apatow, Ralph Lauren, etc.) I always like to ask myself the same questions just for kicks. With questions like “what is your most treasured possession?” and “which living person do you most admire?”, you’d be surprised at how much this questionnaire gets your mind wheels crankin’!

While not normally a part of the survey, I often find myself thinking about this question after completing the Proust Questionnaire: “If you could invite anyone to a dinner party (dead or alive), who would it be?” Although my responses change rather frequently, I thought I’d share my current dream dinner group:

• Grace Coddington •                                                                 • Tony Wilson •

• Larry David •                                                                    • Bret Easton Ellis •


• Colette •                                                                            • Coco Chanel •

• Walt Disney •                                                             • Meryl Streep •

• Frank Zappa •                                                                  • Jean Luc Godard •

If you could have anyone to dinner, who would it be?




8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 7:13 pm

    I was so into those teen mag quizzes… so silly yet I took them so seriously, ha.

    I bet Jack Nicholson would be an entertaining dinner party guest!

    Love this post!

  2. August 3, 2010 11:40 pm

    I was TOTALLY obsessed with those quizzes as well. If I got one of the bad results I thought I was doomed! Too funny.

    Jack Nicholson would definitely be entertaining! Good call!

    xo,
    Sonia

  3. Sara permalink
    August 3, 2010 11:57 pm

    What a nice group of people..I would like to have Karl Lagerfeld and Anna Wintour at my dinner. I like the movie actors too like Cate Blanchett. No?

    kiss,
    Sara

  4. August 6, 2010 3:16 am

    Marilyn Monroe

  5. SLK permalink
    August 11, 2010 2:29 pm

    elivs, david sedaris, larry david, mick jagger, bill cunningham and pat tillman( i just say the new documentary The Tillman Story- amazing)

  6. August 11, 2010 3:07 pm

    Sev! what about mickey rourke?

  7. SLK permalink
    August 11, 2010 3:09 pm

    i mean if Im adding Mickey Rourke then im also adding Mark Mahlberg and Russel Crow (in gladiator garb) but now it’s just getting silly.

  8. SLK permalink
    August 11, 2010 3:11 pm

    WAHLBERG

Leave a Reply

