Skip to content

Style Icon: Anna Dello Russo

July 29, 2010

I know, I know, me and the rest of the world, but you have to admit that if there were ever going to be a living/breathing closet equivalent to Carrie Bradshaw’s it would be Anna Dello Russo’s (which is actually a whole other apartment next to the one she lives in). Aside from the red carpet it’s pretty rare to see looks right off the runway, mainly because not all of us will look that great in an outfit that say, Hanne Gaby Odiele rocked on the catwalk. But, somehow Anna Dello Russo manages to pull of everything from ready-to-wear to couture and Rodarte to Chanel.

I call myself “the vestal of fashion” because for me fashion is a muse and you must seduce her. How? You have to feed the creative fire, so it doesn’t vanish – ADR

It’s incredible how you will almost never see her wear the same article of clothing twice and how she manages to match bits of her outfits together without looking too, for lack of a better phrase, “matchy matchy”. Granted with over 4,000 pairs of shoes and a closet that requires it’s own living space I probably wouldn’t repeat any of my outfits either. She understands and appreciates color, fabric, texture and design unlike anyone I’ve ever seen. Below I’ve put together a giant collage of some of my favorite Anna outfits, but if I had to go ahead and pick one as my number 1 favorite, I’d have to say the black lace Dolce & Gabbana dress with the red undergarments, but it’s a TOUGH CALL and I may retract that statement after posting this…

Also, rumor has it that there is an upcoming documentary on Anna following her (and her giant wardrobe) through six different cities!

photos via tfs

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Renee permalink
    July 31, 2010 9:20 am

    My god she is so incredible. I love that coat on the bottom!

    xx,
    Renee

  2. August 5, 2010 6:03 am

    I would like to exchange links with your site runwayhippie.com
    Is this possible?

Trackbacks

  1. Style Icon: Carine Roitfeld « Runway Hippie

Leave a Reply

