Skip to content

Next Time Around

July 26, 2010

• the house •

As is often the case, all good things must come to an end. This past weekend was my last at the house my Mom rented along the Sound and while I’m looking forward to getting back into my usual NYC routine, I’m definitely going to miss my weekends full of relaxation and typical summer activities. Having spent so much time in the city, I forgot how magical it is to eat dinner by candle and moonlight or to spend hours outside watching boats pass by or the dogs playing on the lawn.

The house we stayed in was the epitome of an old beach house: rustic, damp, and full of character. While my bed may have been on the less than comfortable side, the wicker furniture, hidden stairwells and wrap around porch (that mind you was about 10 degrees cooler than anywhere else on the Point) was all I needed for a perfect month of July. Thankfully, we all had such a good time that we are hoping to turn this summer rental into a family tradition, a place for all of us to come, relax and spend time together.

Here are some things I am going to miss until next July rolls around:

• the room I stayed in •

croquet and tennis •

• the beach •

roadside fruit/vegetable stands •

• being a pool shark •

• burgers (or really anything) on the bbq •

• the sunsets •


2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 7:07 pm

    It looks like it would be scary at night (but then again I’m a big wuss). I had to house sit a mansion with my brothers and mom once and it was sooooo creepy. It just kept making noises all night. Never again! =X

    Yasmeen

Trackbacks

  1. Summer Nostalgia « Runway Hippie

Leave a Reply

