Skip to content

Belle of the Ball

July 9, 2010

Many, many years ago, before I was born, my Grandmother decided to throw a black-tie summer party just because she felt like it. She set up giant tents in the backyard, had a live band playing Cole Porter songs and everyone mingled and danced until the wee hours of the morning.

I went to a masquerade ball back in 2005, and often find myself reminiscing about the evening I had my hair and make-up done and wore one of my Mom’s vintage gowns. While my feet hurt for days afterwards, it was all worth it for that one night of endless glitz and glamor.

Looking at all of the beautiful gowns from the couture shows going on in Paris right now has gotten me day dreaming about attending a black-tie event much like the one my Grandmother threw so many years ago. And although I have no future plans to attend such an event, it doesn’t mean I can’t fantasize about it.

If you could attend any kind of formal event, what would you choose? And most importantly, what would you wear!?

2005 Masquerade Ball •

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 2:40 pm

    You look soooo pretty! That dress is to die for! We don’t dress up enough these days… its so sad

  2. July 9, 2010 3:49 pm

    you look gorgeous!

  3. July 31, 2010 9:39 pm

    I would like to exchange links with your site runwayhippie.com
    Is this possible?

Leave a Reply

