Skip to content

For the Love of Art

June 17, 2010

Art, for me, started in the womb. Perhaps your Mom played Mozart or Madonna while you were somersaulting inside her belly, but mine took me to museums. I couldn’t see, of course, but I think an emotional connection was established. Throughout my childhood this continued – my mom and three, often unwilling, kids, and the masters of art. So, it should come as no surprise to hear that I was an art history major in college.

Art inspires me on a daily basis – whether I’m picking out an outfit, looking for interior design ideas or writing an article, I know that I can always turn to art. Much like music and fashion, when it comes to art I don’t think I could ever pin point one artist as my favorite. From ancient Egypt to Italian Renaissance to post-war/contemporary art or from painting to drawing to photography, I love it all. However, today I have decided to share three of my “favorite” artists with you: Egon Schiele, David Hockney, and Lisa Yuskavage.

Egon Schiele

What initially drew me into the Egon Schiele was the intensity of his portraits. With just a few dark lines and a bit of color, his subjects come to life and confront their viewer. What’s incredible about Schiele’s work is that despite the rigid outlines and contorted positions, the sensuality of his female subjects is not aggressive but inviting and promiscuous. I also love how fashionable his women are – from thigh high stockings to colorful dresses, you can get a real sense of the style from this era.

David Hockney

I’ve always admired Hockney’s works, specifically his swimming pool series, but upon seeing one of his recent exhibits  showcasing his landscape paintings at the Pace Wildenstein, my appreciation for Hockney grew that much more. His bright unnatural colors and bold lines blew me away and immediately reminded me of another one of my favorite artists, Matisse.

Lisa Yuskavage

It only took one painting for me to fall in love with Lisa Yuskavage’s work. Between the luscious colors, underlying sexual content, and abstract environments, Lisa Yuskavage’s paintings put a new spin on figurative art. Not only is she a master of oil paint, but her subject matters are so layered and complex that I could spend hours contemplating a single painting.

Who are some of your favorite artists?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 6:30 pm

    I love Hockney! I first learned about him in a class about the 1960s in my first year in college…the way he paints water is really cool and unique. I’d never heard/seen anything from the other 2 artists but I really like everything you posted here. Very nice taste and hopefully you’ll be able to own a print or two someday!

  2. June 17, 2010 7:11 pm

    I am a Hockney fan as well. I also really like van Gogh and O’Keefe. I’d never heard of Lisa Yuskavage before, but the depth in her paintings is amazing. Thanks for sharing/educating!

    xoxo, Ashley

  3. Sonia permalink*
    June 21, 2010 10:30 pm

    Elise! My goal is to spend my first big paycheck on an original Matisse drawing!

    Ashley! I love Van Gogh and O’Keefe. I discovered a whole new side to Van Gogh upon visiting the Van Gogh museum in Amsterdam. Truly an amazing artist!

    xo,
    Sonia

Leave a Reply

