Skip to content

Style Icon: Jane Birkin

June 7, 2010

As a huge fan of Lou Doillon, it should come as no surprise when I say that Jane Birkin is one of my biggest style icons. From her signature straight-cut bangs and stringy brown hair to her almond eyes and mile-long legs, her beauty is a remarkable mix of both innocent Lolita and femme fatale.

Although her style is quite minimalistic, I can honestly say that I don’t think anyone wears a pair of blue jeans and a white t-shirt as well as Jane. How she makes an outfit so undeniably casual look sexy and sophisticated is beyond me. I love it how she uses a basket as a purse and almost always cinches her waist with a big, bold belt. She is definitely one of my biggest inspirations when I throw on one of my white peasant tops, or pair of high-waisted shorts.

As the namesake of the Hérmes Birkin bag, the mother of three beautiful and fashionable young women (Lou Doillon, Charlotte Gainsbourg, and Kate Barry), and the former wife of the ever stylish Serge Gainsbourg, Jane never seems to fall far from the fashion branch.

I have to say that she and Serge Gainsbourg are one of the most attractive couples…ever. They are the quintessential bohemian duo and exude the 1970s Parisian-chic that so many of us try and replicate in our daily fashion choices. I admire them so much that I actually have a picture framed of the two of them on my living room wall. The next time I make it back to Paris (*le sigh*), I am definitely going to visit Serge’s house on rue de Verneuil.

Below are some of my favorite photos of Jane…I have to admit that looking at these photos makes me miss my bangs even more!

photos via tfs

One Comment leave one →
  1. katie permalink
    June 26, 2010 3:51 pm

    i wish you would post a pic of your outfit! i’de really love to see it!
    also, that pic of jane birkin was definitely taken on the beaches of cannes, where i am studying for college this summer. after seeing her looking so good there, ill have to step up my fashion game next time i am tanning on the beach!!

Leave a Reply

