Skip to content

L I F E

April 1, 2010

While I may not be the most comfortable person in nature(I am horribly afraid of snakes), when it comes to watching and learning about it I am obsessed. I am constantly reading National Geographic magazines, checking out the latest videos uploaded onto Discovery Channel’s website, and go pretty much radio silent during Shark Week. It is thus no surprise that I am completely immersed in Discovery Channel’s latest show LIFE.

What I find fascinating is how much nature plays a role in fashion. Animals, insects, fish, plants, etc. are always influencing designers and their collections. Below I’ve compiled some clothing inspired by nature and all of it’s wonderful creatures.

Clockwise from top: Cheetah, Alexander Wang Millie Leopard Bag - $875, 
Topshop Animal Print Skater Dress - $70,
 mini elephant earrings - $8, ALDO Seavers - $69.98, Daniela Zebra Tube Top - $104

Clockwise from top: Granite Night Lizard, Allosaurus Earrings - $12, 
Alexander McQueen Snake-Effect Leggings - $145,
Deena & Ozzy Croco Bucket Bag - $58, Alexander McQueen Metallic Croc Platform Shoes - $625,
3.1 Phillip Lim Sequined Silk Dress - $895



Clockwise from top: Bugun Liocichla, Nocturnal Tights - $32, 
Emilio Pucci Eagle Cotton Jersey Tank Dress - $780,
Angel Jackson Mini Rio Feather in Multi - $450, 
Delman Anouk Feather Trimmed Flat Boots - $70, Forever 21 Melange Feather Earrings - $5.80

Clockwise from top: Blue Fish, Big Fish Umbrella - $28, 
Christian Louboutin Poseidon in Lavender - $1,195,
French Connection Happy Fish Shopper - $34.19, My Pet Octopus Cuff - $16,
Alexander McQueen Jellyfish Print Tank Dress - $595, Forever 21 Moving Koi Fish - $4.80
6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 9:59 am

    I am a big fan of animal prints myself and always feel drawn to them when I am choosing among patterns. I love the pairing with other things in my wardrobe and it always becomes such a striking outfit which always leads to a compliment!
    Great POST!
    xoxo
    KC
    htttp://www.letterstobetsy.com

  2. April 1, 2010 11:20 am

    I just got those Delman feather boots off Gilt! I’m obsessed with them — now I just need somewhere to wear them!!!

  3. April 1, 2010 11:22 am

    ARGH. just realized i paid $200 for them and they are now on sale for $70. boo.

  4. April 1, 2010 1:37 pm

    very cool post. love the feather bag, although i would prolly rip it to shreds, i’m such a tom boy!

    xo
    bravegrrl.blogspot.com

Trackbacks

  1. Beautiful Blogger « Runway Hippie
  2. In the Jungle « Runway Hippie

Leave a Reply

