Skip to content

Style Icon: Chase Cohl

March 15, 2010

A couple of months ago, I posted an entry on the stunning headband line, Littledoe, designed by Chase Cohl. Well, that just wasn’t enough for me. After reading about and seeing photos of Chase on StyleLikeU,  I was so inspired that I had to find out more about her. So, I contacted Chase about doing a Q&A with me and she obligingly said yes!

You probably recognize her from the gorgeous photos of her in her old Soho apartment on The Selby. However, since then, Chase has moved to Los Angeles to be closer to nature and now lives in an equally amazing home complete with a teepee in her backyard.

Aside from her impeccable interior taste, she also has a scavengers eye for finding incredible vintage clothing. From exquisite Victorian dresses to rugged lace-up boots, Chase looks as though she has literally been plucked right out of Little House on the Prairie. This semblance is only further emphasized by her love and creation of folk music.

While there is a ton of information online about Littledoe, there’s hardly any information about Chase. But without a facebook, myspace or twitter it makes sense as to why hackers haven’t been able to steal her photos and information. That being said, Chase is so magical and inspirational that I couldn’t help but want to share more of her with you.

Although I have never met Chase, just by briefly communicating with her I can tell that she is one of those imaginative and artistic people that will never cease to create incredible things. From her music and her headbands, to her beautiful collection of jewelry, Chase and her aesthetic eye are here to stay.

Here’s our little interview:

RH: How would you describe your style?
CC: Gypsy Grandmother. I don’t believe that young girls need to show skin in order to display beauty or sex appeal. To me, everything is better left to the imagination.

RH: Do you have any style advice?
CC: Clothing can be a pretty magic representation of character, if you let it. Never be afraid to wear color! I’d get off on seeing someone in a mismatched rainbow getup any day of the week, black is such a bore!!!

RH: Who are your style icons?
CC: Ladies of the Canyon past, Joni & the GTOs in particular, they were a sparkling dream, fashion wise. Also Mormon women, I live in prairie dresses and lace up boots

RH: What are your closet staples?
CC: Vintage Dresses! I’ve got tons of tattered white lace victorian gowns, I wear them till they dissolve. Also, I collect antique moccasins. I live in quite a small house, so I’ve gone off the deep end and filled my dish cupboards top to bottom with shoes.

RH: Do you have any favorite places to go shopping?
CC: Oooh I mostly wait around for the vintage shows.  California vintage is truly unbeatable.

RH: Do you ever look back on outfits that you wore and think, “what was I thinking??” Is there any outfit in particular that comes to mind?
CC: When I was a little one I used to troll around in these lime green neon spandex shorts, those were horrendous, very early 90s.  Also anyone who ever wore a t-shirt with some stupid tag line written on it deserves a serious talking to (myself included once upon a time).

RH: You have an incredible sense of interior design. Can you tell me how you go about picking things for your home?

CC: I like the idea of bringing the outdoors indoors, so my house is drowning in taxidermy rodents and such. Also, I love the juxtaposition of mixing ratty things with really rich over the top fabrics like old burnout velvets and laces, and comfort is most important. I couldn’t live in a display set, everything in my home is meant to be played with.

RH: What is your most treasured possession?
CC: I don’t really keep photographs and I have the worst memory in the universe, but possession-wise there would have to be two.  First are my mom’s old hand-painted canvas boots from the 70s, second is my dads ponytail that he cut off when he was in his late 20s and mailed to my grandmother,  I still have it wrapped in a rubber band.

RH: You seem very inspired by the 1960/70 hippie era. What is it about this time that you love so much?
CC: To me, that era was an aesthetically perfect time. I think that at that time, particularly in California, there was so much beautiful music being created, the youth were a very inspired generation, and fashion, lifestyle, everything was just a reflection of that.

RH: Who are your greatest influences and why?
CC: My family.  My pops is totally unafraid to speak is mind, my mama gives the most unconditional good lovin’ I’ve ever come across and my brothers exist without any care as to the judgement of others. I try to soak up those qualities from them as often as I can.

RH: Can you tell me a bit about your band WEEPAW?
CC: We’ve actually split, but we are all still writing tunes, together and separately. I’ve been writing a ton of new material on my own, and have taken the Weepaw songs with me, so I’m working on putting a record together by the end of the year. I’ve spent some time recently in the South, Tennessee and Alabama writing, trying to spread some of my organic folksiness onto those pop country kids down there!

Here is a sample of one of Chase’s latest songs, “Where does the light go?”

RH: What are your favorite bands/artists? Why?
CC: The boys that I had Weepaw with and a few other friends from Canada have a new band called the Treasures. Their tunes, harmonies are completely magnetic, I can’t turn em off! Other than that I mostly listen to my standards, Judee Sill, Karen Dalton, Joni Mitchell, I’m big on female singer songwriters. Oh, and this singer chick called Lissie, her songs have a really old soul vibe.

RH: If you could see someone in concert that you’ve never seen before, who would it be?
CC: Well, most of my favorite singers who I haven’t seen are long buried, but if we’re speaking of living singers, I’m dying to see Fleet Foxes.

RH: What made you start Littledoe?
CC: Boredom mostly.  I was looking for something to do with my hands, and I completely fell into making these pieces as a hobby, and now I’m so glad I followed it through as a business, theres nothing better than being able to pay my rent & grocery doing something that I enjoy, that leaves me time and inspiration for my music.

Littledoe

(psst! – check out Runway Hippie “it-girl” Ruby Corley on the left!)

RH: What made you choose the name “Littledoe”? Why?
CC: I grew up spending my summers in this massive national park in Ontario called Algonquin Park.  It is the most beautiful and serene place in the universe, Littledoe is the name of a lake in the park.

RH: If you could have anyone wear your designs, who would it be?
CC:Robin Pecknold, Ben Bridwell & Chris Robinson.  Aside from the fact that they are all wonderful musicians, I just love a good beard.

RH: What do you value most in your friends?
CC: Humor. I giggle from sunrise to sunset when I am with my best friends.  To be able to share an artistic relationship with someone, where you exchange, respect and support each other’s craft is pretty magic.

RH: What is your greatest extravagance?
CC: I have the itchiest feet around so I am very lucky that I can afford to travel and bop around when I like.

RH: What is your idea of a perfect day?
CC: Rain, tea, fire, tunes, blankets, wine, a warm body, and maybe some Scrabble…

RH: Lastly, what is a talent that you would most like to have?
CC: I’d like to be able to visualize music better, to play any instrument that comes across my path. And, while I’m not sure whether this would be classified as a talent or a superpower, I’d like to be able to talk to animals.

photos via the selby, stylelikeu, myspace and chase
6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 10:54 pm

    I love this post… AMAZING

  2. March 17, 2010 12:42 am

    the photos are so magical

  3. arabella colombier permalink
    April 6, 2010 10:57 pm

    hi, how can i get in contact with her? i could not find her contact info on the website

  4. April 8, 2010 12:58 am

    my cousin rocks

  5. April 8, 2010 12:59 am

    did i mention my cousin rocks

Trackbacks

  1. Pia « Runway Hippie

Leave a Reply

