Skip to content

Sound Wave

March 5, 2010

This morning, I thought I’d try out something different.

Alongside fashion, music is one of my biggest interests/hobbies/loves. I almost always have a stack of upcoming concert tickets stuck to my fridge, and am always discovering new artists and sounds. While I could sit here and try to narrow down my favorite artists, I think this post would turn into a giant music ramble. So, I thought I’d share some of the music that I’m listening to right this very second.

Class Actress

I love the synthesizer beats and Elizabeth Harper’s folky electro-pop voice. I usually put this on in the mornings to jump-start my day, or at night when I’m getting ready to go out.

Here’s one of my favorite songs off their EP Journal of Ardency

Dominant Legs


Dominant Legs, to me, is like a mixture of Stars and Belle and Sebastian. The songs are sweet and the sound is kind of like a modernized eighties pop.  I don’t think they’ve actually come out with a full album, but you should definitely check out the myspace page.

My favorite song is “young at love and life”.

Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros

All I have to say about them is that if you’re not listening to them, then you need to do yourself a favor and start immediately. Their entire album is amazing – I fell in love with my first listen and would now classify them as one of my favorite bands (you can hold me to that).

Here is their most popular song “Home”.

Beach House

I absolutely love Beach House. Victoria Legrand has one of the most beautiful voices I’ve ever heard. I’ve seen her live a few times and her voice literally echoes in your stomach. While they always remain true to their sound, each album seems to get better and better and I love every one of them.

This song is “Lover of Mine” and is off their latest album.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 11:26 pm

    the songs are nice! I like the first one and the last one the best 🙂

  2. March 9, 2010 6:13 am

    So true, second best thing to fashion is really good music. I too am currently obsessed with Edward Sharpe – LOVE. I was so sad, they just played here in SB and I missed the boat on buying tickets before they were sold out! sad. Hoping to see them at Coachella though.

  3. Tiffany permalink
    March 9, 2010 3:32 pm

    Love the songs!!!!!!

    XOXO,

    http://outfitidentifier.com/

  4. alejandro permalink
    March 11, 2010 3:31 pm

    i love your blog ! This is so cool what you are doing . And i really dug the music entry.
    You have great taste in music and style.

Trackbacks

  1. Singing Sirens « Runway Hippie

Leave a Reply

