Skip to content

Chelsee Ivan

January 21, 2010

I love discovering photographers on Flickr (see here and here). I recently stumbled upon Chelsee Ivan, an amazing photographer from Taber in Southern Alberta. She is only 22 years old and has already been published in magazines. I think we can expect to see a lot more of her in publications.

Chelsee was kind enough to do a Q&A with me upon which she answered questions about her inspirations, favorite photographers and more!

RH: What got you into photography?

CI: I’d have to say the internet. When I began using it a lot and started my first blog I would see other people updating about their days and including, what I thought, were really good photographs. I wanted to be able to include photographs with my posts too! So I bought a little Canon digital camera and realized I loved taking photographs and wasn’t too bad at it.

RH: How long have you been photographing?

CI: Forever, but began trying to take ‘good’ photographs at about age 17.
RH: What kind of camera do you use?

CI: My main camera is a Canon 50D. But also a Polaroid SX70, disposable cameras, a 35mm Pentax and occasionally a Holga.

RH: What inspires your work?

CI: Listening to music while driving long distances (usually between Calgary and my home town), is when I feel the most inspired and excited about taking photographs.

RH: You seem to have a mix of both people and nature, sometimes combined, is there a subject you prefer shooting?

CI: People in nature! That is definitely my favourite thing to shoot. In Alberta I am surrounded by so much empty space, I love putting a person in it. While in Calgary I really love to find parks where there are trees and it feels like I am not in the middle of a city. One of my favourite things is taking road trips with my best friend and finding tiny towns to shoot.
RH: What methods do you use when working? Is there a certain look that you are trying to achieve?

CI: Simplicity. I only use my camera and the majority of my photographs use only natural light. I hate to put lights and props in between me and the subject. I want my photographs to be as simple as possible and yet still have an impact on the viewer.

RH: Who are your favorite photographers/artists? Do you strive for your work to be like theirs?

CI: I have lots, I don’t know if I can pick one or two favourites. Katharina Schumacher’s (http://www.flickr.com/photos/kathmarie/) work is probably my current favourite. But I also very much love Joel Sternfeld, Doug Dubois, Alec Soth and (of course) William Eggleston.

And I’m definitely inspired by them, sometimes I see a pose or gesture in the photograph, or an angle the photograph was shot at, and I try and remember it for the next time I’m taking a picture.

RH: If you could shoot anyone or anything, dead or alive, what or who would it be?

CI: I really want to venture to Iceland to photograph. As for a person? That would have to be Sam Beam of Iron&Wine or any other musician whose music I am currently in love with.
RH: You’ve worked with a few magazines, how did that come about and was there any experience that really stood out to you?

CI: One of them (Uppercase) is a beautiful magazine based out of the city I’m currently living in. I submitted a few things to a show that the magazine editor put on and awhile later she asked me to do a few things for her new magazine. For the latest issue I was honored to be asked to shoot Chad VanGaalen (whose music is some of my favourite), I was terribly nervous but it was such a good experience and really amazing to be the one taking the photographs!

With any other magazine I’ve taken photographs for, I was found through Flickr.

RH:What has been one of your favorite assignments?

CI: Definitely the one mentioned above!

RH: Lastly, tell me something quirky or different about yourself

CI: Until about the age of 12 I ‘saved’ garbage. I believed everything had feelings and it shouldn’t be going to the dump to freeze! It never went far enough for me to collect things that would rot but my room used to be packed full of …garbage.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 9:54 pm

    beautiful!

    xo
    bravegrrl.blogspot.com

  2. tommy permalink
    January 21, 2010 10:09 pm

    her photographs are so great! What a tremendous talent she is… and so young. thanks for posting it!

  3. January 21, 2010 10:29 pm

    These images are gorgeous! Love that first one with the pink towel…

Leave a Reply

